Trade Paperback

Kindle Edition
SCBWI Member
Neworld Papers
Editorial Reviews
“Shaw brilliantly weaves technology, humor,
  and romance into a hip, age-blind novel.”

   — Budd Black, Boston Science Fiction Book Club
“The reader cannot help but be
  captivated by this young couple.”

   — Hugh Starkey, SPECTRUM Children's Book Club
“True to science fiction form, it evokes the
  spirit of darkness as evil, the shadow,
  the phantom that slowly emerges.”

   — Barb Cutler, St. Joseph School Library, Seattle, WA
“This story mixes the empathy for the
  characters of the Harry Potter stories
  and the politics of the X-Men.”

   — SFReader.com
“I won't be surprised if the name KB Shaw
   emerges from the shadows into the limelight
   of the young adult publishing world.”

   — Paul Goat Allen, Editor, Barnes & Noble's
       science fiction/fantasy book review

Read Now “KB Shaw has created an instant classic with all the desired ingredients for great young adult fiction... From the Shadows: The Complete Series is a must-read for fans of Star Wars and Ender's Game, adult and child alike, who will find plenty of detailed pseudo-scientific jargon in a not too distant future that could almost be real. Overall, I'd highly recommend this adventure-packed collection to anyone looking for their next literary obsession.”
K. C. Finn, readersfavorite.com

starstarstarstar / 4 “In the reviews I have written for this website I have been slightly loath to award the maximum number of stars, holding them in reserve for a book of transcendental brilliance. From the Shadows is not transcendentally brilliant. It is, however, a thoughtful, intelligent work that balances characters and ideas with an unrelenting plot. It is, by some distance, the best book I have reviewed for the site. The fact that that by no means denigrates the others I have read, makes it a worthy recipient of 4 out of 4 stars.”
David Dawson, OnlineBookClub.org

Read Now "From the Shadows: The Complete Series, is filled with action, adventure and technology -- the perfect recipe for an enthralling and exciting read... the world presented in this story is in a class by itself, and its marvels would promise a fascinating future indeed. From the Shadows: The Complete Series is most highly recommended.”
Jack Magnus, readersfavorite.com

starstarstarstarstar/ 5 “Readers of science fiction, especially those who would like a bit more than merely a great story, who want to think as well as enjoy, will certainly find From the Shadows to be an exciting and compelling novel.”
Cyclamen, longandshortreviews.com

Logo
Artwork Send your artwork to neworld [at] ipulpfiction [.] com
Glossary

Terms

annum: an archaic way of measuring a person's age; 12 consecutive months (two thirds of a cycle)

Brain Teasers
"AN INSTANT CLASSIC"

ReadersFavorite.com

"AN INTELLIGENT, INSPIRING ADVENTURE"
Kirkus Reviews

"MORE THAN MERELY A GREAT STORY"
LongAndShortReviews.com

"A THOUGHTFUL, INTELLIGENT WORK"
OnlineBookClub.org

An exciting science fiction adventure for readers 12 and up. Adults: Share your love of science fiction with your child or grandchild. Young readers: share it with your parents, grandparents, friends, and teachers.

In the near future...

It’s been sixteen years since a reclusive child prodigy brought civility back to the digital world with the release of an AI based computer that required a simple “please” and “thank you” to function fully. Now he is about to unleash a new technology that could threaten the world.

Cameron Rush and Rosa Costas are best friends, even though they have never met in person. Cameron lives in Troy, a small town in Wisconsin, while Rosa lives on a ranch outside Albuquerque, New Mexico. Unabashed technology geeks, they become friends on the comNet while competing in a contest sponsored by GundTech. They are typical fifteen-year-olds living in their isolated worlds of family, school and friends.

Cameron's schoolmates call him boring. He's an A/B student, second-seat trumpet in the school band, fourth-string halfback, and tenth-man on the basketball team. He is unbelievably meek and takes grief for it from others. He likes a challenge.

At 5'-1", Rosa Costas is vivacious and petite. She is as outgoing as Cameron is meek. A friend once described her as "a hundred-pound package wrapped in a ton of personality." Rosa is also deceptively tough. Her mantel full of rodeo trophies attests to this fact. On the weekends and during vacations, she works as a cowgirl on a ranch. She is adept at languages and, like Cameron, enjoys solving puzzles and overcoming challenges.

Meagan Fletcher, technology reporter for the World Broadband Network, has never named her multiCom AI. Because she knows the potential dangers technology can pose, she prefers to use her multiCom in manual mode, bypassing the AI altogether. She doesn't trust it--and she trusts GundTech even less. It is a company that seems too good to be true. Meagan is on a mission to expose the mysterious inventor behind GundTech and discover the computer company's true intent.

As Rosa, Cameron, and Meagan race toward their destiny, they are oblivious to the dangers that lie ahead.


 

Home Page